MWU CDM 2017 D-4 Case Presentation Competition

The Illinois Academy of General Dentistry (ILAGD), the Academy of Dentistry International (ADI) and the Omicron Kappa Upsilon National Dental Honor Society, Beta Epsilon Chapter held the 2017 D-4 Case Presentation Competition at Midwestern University College of Dental Medicine-IL. The D-4(Senior) student presenters were Kaveh Abedini, Nicole Ford, Ryan Park, Wing Siu Yeung, Stacy Tinkoff and Emma Smith. Drs. Cheryl Mora, Theresa Lao, Barry Baker, Marsha Babka, William Lawley, Helen Lo, Ryan Vahdani, Lillian Obucina, Sy Wachtenheim and Joe Wolski volunteered to be “judges” for the event. Drs. Lao, Baker, Babka, Obucini, and Vahdani are MWU faculty. Dr. Robert John and Dr. Pam Jurgens-Toepke also MWU faculty also attended. The student representatives for the ILAGD also attended the event-Andrew Adiputra, Tyler DeAnda, Emily Koufos, Alexandria Newton, Candice Koutz and Libby Standerwick. The students presented a patient case and were judged on the quality of the presentation including the comprehensive exam, diagnosis, evidence based articles, photography, models, treatment plan, outcomes, and their ability to answer questions. All the students had excellent presentations which made the judging very difficult. After the presentations, the students and volunteers went to dinner at Bucca di Beppo and the scholarship prizes were awarded. The third place prize of $100 was given by ADI to Wing Siu Yeung. The second place prize of $200 also awarded by ADI was awarded to Kaveh Abedini. The first place prize of $300 was given by OKU and was given to Stacy Tinkoff. Congratulations to all the students on their excellent presentations and many thanks to the ILAGD volunteers and Midwestern Faculty who participated in the event.

Powered by WordPress. Designed by WooThemes