MWU CDM-IL 2018 D-4 Case Presentation Competition

The Illinois Academy of General Dentistry (ILAGD), the Academy of Dentistry International (ADI) and the Omicron Kappa Upsilon National Dental Honor Society, Beta Epsilon Chapter held the 2018 D-4 Case Presentation Competition at Midwestern University College of Dental Medicine-IL. The D-4(Senior) student presenters were Kyriaki Ades, Tyler Deanda, Cody Emeigh, Brian Garcia, Brittany Oreste, Elizabeth Standerwick. Drs. Cheryl Mora, Theresa Lao, Larry Williams, Marsha Babka, Ryan Vahdani, Lillian Obucina, William Lawley, Sy Wachtenheim and Ben Youel and volunteered to be “judges” for the event. Drs. Lao, Williams, Babka, Obucini, and Vahdani are MWU faculty. The student representatives for the ILAGD also attended the event-Andrew Adiputra, Tyler DeAnda, Emily Koufos, Alexandria Newton, Candice Koutz and Libby Standerwick and Macy Huetl. The theme for these patient presentations were“Adverse Outcomes/Bad News”. Each student presented a case in which the outcome of the case was different than originally treatment planned or discussed with the patient. All the dentists in the room have had similar experiences and these cases generated a great deal of discussion. All the students had excellent presentations which made the judging very difficult. After the presentations, the students and volunteers had dinner at the Greek Islands Restaurant in Lombard and the scholarship prizes were awarded. The third place prize of $100 was given by ADI to Tyler DeAnda. The second place prize of $200 also awarded by ADI was awarded to Cody Emeigh. The first place prize of $300 was given by OKU and was given to Brittany Oreste. Congratulations to all the students on their excellent presentations and many thanks to the ILAGD volunteers and Midwestern Faculty who participated in the event.

Powered by WordPress. Designed by WooThemes